sevenswells: (Burger-eating Koki)
I'm SUCH an idiot. I've stayed up all night just to finish that food porn one-shot and now I'm completely worn out. Hopefully though, it'll be up as soon as beta and brit-picking are done.

In order to perfect my knowledge of sushi for that fic, I've been watching a Japanese drama called Shouta no Sushi, adapted from a shounen manga of the "educational type". From an artistic standpoint, the show is really INCREDIBLY BAD. The actors are atrocious, the plotline so cliché it would make the guys who write articles on TV Tropes cry, I won't even comment on the editing, the filming and about every other aspect of making a TV show that they're failing at. There is one theme song repeated over and over throughout the episodes, and it's pretty terrible too. Because it's adapted from a shounen manga, the main character's goal is to become the number one sushi chef in Japan, so his motto is "NIPPON ICHI!" ("number one in Japan!") which is bad enough, and he keeps repeating it throughout the show, about 50 times per episode -- the worst being when the other characters start yelling it too. It's like when they keep repeating the episode's title in Glee (e.g., "Funk", "Home"), only ten times worse.
And yet, despite all that, I'm still watching. Why? Because from a culinary standpoint, I'm actually learning stuff. Of course most of it is very exaggerated, but watching the show, you can understand why sushi business in Japan is deadly srs bsns.
Seriously, though... I'm watching an incredibly bad drama only because it makes me learn more about sushi. I'm hopeless, aren't I? =___=;;;

Spoilers for the Top Chef US finale and Stéphanie lurve under the cut )
sevenswells: (Stupid raisins stay out of my cookie)
OMG! I take back everything I said about Top Chef France, it's actually becoming BRILLIANT! And what was with the last episode of Top Chef US?! It was SO SO EXCITING!

Inordinate amounts of gratuitous flailing, caps lock and ranting under the cut )

Aaaaah. Cooking TV shows. You make the world a better place to be. ^3^
sevenswells: (Stupid raisins stay out of my cookie)
I don't know what happened, but this week's episode in Top Chef France was pretty good! I've realized something though: when I watch cooking shows, I have the same behaviour as some people when they're watching a football game:

"NOOOO YOU DIPSHIT YOU DON'T MAKE A TARTARE TO GO WITH A SOFT DRINK, THE SODA'LL JUST RUIN THE TASTE AND WHO WILL NOTICE YOUR FANCY PISTACCHIO AND BLACK OLIVES THEN, HUH, ASSHAT?!"

"YES!!! SURF AND TURF, STÉPHANIE, WAY TO GO, THAT'S MY GIRL, THAT'S MY GIRL!!! YES, YES, EXACTLY: BITTERNESS TO COUNTER THE SWEETNESS OF THE SOFT DRINK, THAT IS SO CLEVER, YOU'RE AWESOME, STÉPHANIE, KEEP GOING!!"

"SHUT UP JUDGE, YOU'RE NOT MAKING ANY SENSE, OF COURSE ARTICHOKES CAN GO WITH CHAMPAGNE AS LONG AS THE ACIDITY IS KEPT IN CHECK, ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME?? OH MAN... THIS IS BULLSHIT!! SHUT UP!!!" *throws something at TV*

"DO THAT SHORTBREAD AGAIN YOU WUSS IT DOESN'T MATTER IF YOU'VE BURNED IT TWICE ALREADY, START OVER!!! NOOOOO DON'T JUST TAKE OUT THE BURNED BITS AAAAAH I CAN'T WATCH THIS I CAN'T!!!"

And, apparently, it doesn't matter if I'm all alone in front of the TV or with friends: it's the exact same thing.

Yes, it scares me a little, too O____o
sevenswells: (Nodame French!?)
Spoilers for Top Chef season 8 up until ep 9 )

Profile

sevenswells: (Default)
sevenswells

December 2016

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18 192021222324
25262728 2930 31

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 04:52 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios